VA Licensing & Education Requirements

Virginia Real Estate Board
9960 Maryland Drive #400
Richmond, Va 23233
Licensing Section Phone: 804-367-8526
Licensing Section Email: RESchool@dpor.virginia.gov
Website: www.dpor.virginia.gov/boards/real-estate/

prelicensing

Salesperson PreLicensing Education Requirements

  1. Be 18 years old

  2. Provide proof of high school diploma or equivalent

  3. Complete 60 hours of Board approved Principles of Real Estate Pre-License Course

  4. Pass State and National Exam

  5. Pass background check and submit fingerprints

  6. Complete application and pay applicable fee

Broker Pre Licensing Education Requirements

  1. Be 18 years old

  2. Provide proof of high school diploma or equivalent

  3. Have been actively engaged as a real estate salesperson for a period of 36 of the 48 months immediately preceding the application. 

  4. Experience must be verified by Principal or Supervising Broker for whom the licensee worked at the time of obtaining that experience. 

  5. Complete 180 hours of Board-approved Pre-License Courses

  6. Complete Real Estate Brokerage course

  7. Complete either:

    • Three Broker-specific courses of Real Estate Appraisal Real Estate Finance and Real Estate law; or

    • Two of the Broker Specific Courses and one of the following Broker-Related courses

      • Real Estate Abstracting

      • Real Estate Contract Law

      • Real Estate Economics

      • Real Estate Feasibility Analysis

      • Real Estate Investments

      • Real Estate Math

      • Real Estate Property Management

      • Real Estate Property Law

      • CCIM (all parts)

      • GRI (all parts)

      • SIR/SIOR (all parts)

      • Business Law

      • Commercial Mortgage Lending

      • Land Planning and Use

      • Urban Development

  8. Pass State and National Exam

Young Businesswomen
 
 

postlicensing

Salesperson First Renewal Education Requirements

  1. Effective January 1, 2019: all active new salesperson licensees are required to complete a board-approved 30-Hour Post license education (PLE) course within one year from the last day of the month in which the license was issued to remain on active status. 

  2. Effective January 1, 2019 the 30-Hour PLE program will consist of NINE courses:

    • 2 hours- Fair Housing, ADA and Civil Rights

    • 6 hours- Real Estate Law and Regulations

    • 3 hours- Ethics and Standards of Conduct

    • 2 hours- Current Industry Issues and Trends

    • 3 hours- Agency Law

    • 6 hours- Contract Writing

    • 3 hours- Risk Management

    • 3 hours- Escrow Requirements

    • 2 hours- Real Estate-Related Finance

  3. New Salespersons who must complete 30 Hour PLE program do not need to complete the 16-hour CE curriculum required of other salespersons. 

  4. See ruling here: Virginia Law

Business Conference
 

continuing education

Salesperson Subsequent Renewal Education Requirements

  1. Renewals are every two years

  2. Must complete 16 hours of education to include:

    1. 3 hours- Ethics and Standards of Conduct

    2. 2 hours- Fair Housing

    3. 1 hour- Legal Updates and Emerging Trends

    4. 1 hour- Real Estate Agency

    5. 1 hour- Real Estate Contracts

    6. 8 hours in Real Estate Related subjects (electives) 

Broker Continuing Education Requirements

  1. Licensee renewals will be every two years

  2. Brokers must complete 24 hours of education to include:

    • 6 hours- Broker Management

    • 2 hours- Broker Supervision

    • 3 hours- Ethics and Standards of Conduct

    • 2 hours- Fair Housing

    • 1 hour- Legal Updates and Emerging Trends

    • 1 hour- Real Estate Agency

    • 1 hour- Real Estate Contracts

  3. ​See additional information here: Virginia Law

Business Meeting

EXAM PROVIDER INFORMATION

  • Refer any questions or scheduling or registration to PSI 

  • Website: PSI Exams Online

  • Phone: 800-733-9267

  • Please review Candidate Information Bulletin to ensure applicants are fully prepared for exam day.

Online Learning