NC Licensing & Education Requirements

North Carolina Real Estate Commission
1313 Navaho Dr
PO Box 17100
Raleigh, NC 27619
Phone: 804-367-8526
Education/Licensing Email: LS@ncrec.gov
Website: NCREC.gov

 

prelicensing

Prelicensing Education Requirements

  1. Be 18 years old

  2. Be a United States citizen, a non-citizen national or a qualified alien under federal law, or have a lawful presence in the U.S. and be authorized to work in the U.S. in the real estate brokerage field.

  3. Have a Social Security Number

  4. Satisfy one of the following Education Qualification Options and produce the required documentation (see NCREC Rule 58A.0304):

    • Complete the 75-hour North Carolina Broker Prelicensing Course

    • Complete an equivalent real estate salesperson Prelicensing course in another state

    • Complete equivalent real estate education, i.e., a baccalaureate or higher degree in the field of real estate, real estate brokerage, real estate finance, real estate development, or a law degree conferred by an accredited college, university, or college accrediting body recognized by the US Department of Education

    • Current licensure as a real estate salesperson or broker in another state. Applicants licensed in another jurisdiction should see “Applicants who are Licensed in Other Jurisdictions”  for more information.

  5. File a complete application and fee HERE

  6. Pass the two-part real estate license examination (Exceptions: Persons eligible to bypass the license examination or to take only the State section of the examination as an applicant licensed in another jurisdiction and some license reinstatement applicants)

  7. Satisfy the Commission that the applicant possesses the requisite character for licensure.

Young Businesswomen

postlicensing

Postlicensing Education Requirements

  1. All provisional brokers must satisfy the Postlicensing education requirement

  2. 90 classroom hours, divided into three 30-hour courses

  3. Must be completed within 18 months of initial licensure

  4. Upon completion of all three Postlicensing courses, the provisional status of the broker license will be automatically terminated by the Commission

  5. If a provisional broker fails to timely complete the Postlicensing program, the license will be placed on inactive status until the licensee remedies the education deficiency and requests reactivation of the license.

Business Conference
 

continuing education

​Continuing Education Requirements

  1. All licensees must complete eight (8) hours of continuing education each license year following the first renewal of the license

  2. Continuing education courses shall consist of:

    1. The Commission’s annual 4-hour Update course and

    2. One Commission-approved 4-hour elective course on any subject deemed appropriate by the Commission

  3. Any licensee who fails to complete continuing education requirements shall not actively engage in the business of real estate broker.

Business Meeting
 

EXAM PROVIDER INFORMATION

  • Refer any questions or scheduling or registration to PSI 

  • Website: PSI Exams Online

  • Phone: 855-579-4638

  • Please review RE Licensing in NC to ensure applicants are fully prepared for exam day.

Online Learning